Powys is administered by Powys County Council and has 73 elected councillors representing 73 council wards. Although it is a unitary authority, the highway functions of the council, along with the allocation of small grants, are delegated to the three Shire has 24 councillors, Radnorshire has 15 and Montgomeryshire has 34.